Connect with us

Early Learning

Solar System – Uranus.

Seventh planet.

Solar System – Uranus. PR049EN09 1080

Uranus is the seventh planet from the sun and the third largest planet. The volume of Uranus is 67 times the volume of earth. Its density is 1.29 times the density of water. Its mass is 14.5 times the mass of earth. The centre of Uranus is made of rock and possibly ice. The rest of the planet is made up of gases and liquid water. It has a large rocky core, and because of the tremendous pressure, it could contain trillions of large diamonds. Uranus is a very windy planet. Cold clouds made of hydrogen gas and methane gas race around the planet. The atmosphere of Uranus is cold, but near the centre, it is very, very hot. Uranus is very odd. Unlike all the other planets and most of the moons in our solar system, Uranus spins on its side. It is believed that long ago a very large object smashed into this planet. The crash was so powerful that it completely changed the direction of Uranus’ spin. Uranus has 27 moons. Five of these moons are large and the rest are smaller. The planet’s five largest moons are Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, Oberon, and Miranda. Uranus orbits at a distance of about 2781 million kilometres from the sun. Its diameter is 51,118 kilometres. Its average temperature is minus 214 degrees Celsius. Uranus spins on its axis one time every 17 hours. It goes around the sun once every 84 earth years. Uranus has 27 moons.

Continue Reading